I Haven’t Dropped Off the Face of the Earth


I’ve just been a little absorbed since June with traveling for work (once a month from June through October), vacation and a family wedding in September, changes in my job (good ones) and learning to deal with new technological challenges, and last but not least, my dad and his physical decline.

This month I have driven to North Carolina two weekends in a row to arrange home health care, look for assisted living, go to doctor appointment, and cook for him. Prayers have been answered in the facts that my dad has accepted that it is no longer safe for him to live by himself, and he’s planning to move to Nashville for at least a while as he undergoes treatment.

Now that we have a diagnosis (he has a form of leukemia common in elderly people), the next step is to consult with an oncologist in Nashville. In all of this experience I am grateful for:

  • my sweet husband, who has shopped for groceries, cooked, made many phone calls to arrange doctor visits for my dad here, and just generally been a rock for me
  • friends and coworkers who are praying for me
  • good books to read (and divert my attention)
  • funny comments on Facebook and Twitter
  • yoga and my walking buddies
  • the gift of prayer and the assurance that God will be my strength
  • my crazy kitty, Lily, who warms my lap each night
  • crisp fall weather (even when it’s damp and cold)
  • the beauty of nature
  • art and music to enjoy
  • writing, poetry, and the right words spoken when I need them

I am a little weary but holding up okay. One day at a time. One foot in front of the other.

Leave a Reply

