The Sweetest Thing My Husband Ever Did


I guess you could call this part 2 of my blog on “What Makes a Relationship Work?” As I write this, my husband, John, is headed to North Carolina to be with my dad and tend to his surgical site. I just returned from being with Daddy (who’s 89 and had outpatient surgery for a growth on his neck on Monday) for a few days. He’s had continuing problems with the left side of his face, starting with surgery for a melanoma back in December 2011.

I feel like the luckiest woman in the world right now. I wanted to spend more time with my dad and felt bad leaving him the day after surgery, although he was doing well.  If I’d had my “druthers,” I would have stayed for 2 or 3 more days. But here’s the deal:  our family has already planned a vacation trip to the DC area for a cousin’s wedding (leaving on June 22 and returning June 26), and at my work we are trying to get a catalog finished by the end of this month, so it’s not a good time to be away from the office for extended periods.

I’m keeping my fingers and toes crossed that the pathology results from Monday’s surgery will come back clean as a whistle. Before I got to my dad’s, all I knew was that the lump was on his neck. When I got there and saw the location of the tumor, I noticed it was directly under the site of his squamous cell carcinoma surgeries (he had to go back three times to have all of it removed until the margins were clear). Fear rose in my chest. I’m praying that the tumor is benign. Perhaps I should take consolation in the fact that the surgeon told me it looked good to his naked eye.

But this is my dad we’re talking about. John knew, without my having to ask, that I would feel better if someone from our family was with Daddy. He has a more flexible schedule now that school is out. If Daddy gets bad news, there will be a representative from our family with him.

Meanwhile, we wait. And John has definitely racked up some major “Good Hubby” points.

[Update 6/14/12: The pathology report came back with good news. Whew.]

Leave a Reply

