My Life in 150 Words or Less


A recent contest in Reader’s Digest has challenged me to see if I can summarize my life in 150 words or less. As an editor, I like conciseness. As a writer, I am challenged to be succinct. Here goes:

Only child born into a loving family with long line of strong women. Cousins significant to me. Shy introvert growing up; blossomed in college. Earned B.A. in English; worked in LifeWay’s Music Ministries Dept. for 16 1/2 years. Realized my dream of becoming an editor and writer. Married a creative thinker who makes me laugh; have 2 wonderful children. Faith is important to me; so is learning about others’ spiritual journeys. Lifelong learner. Saddest day: when Mom died in 1991. Enjoy music, art, lively discussions, coffee, walking, nature, jokes, time with friends, singing in choir, playing piano, attempting to knit and paint. Recovering perfectionist. Life is good.

5 thoughts on “My Life in 150 Words or Less

  1. I probably should have added:
    Happiest Day: My wedding day. Next happiest days: Son Daniel’s birth, daughter Julie’s birth. Proudest days: Children’s high school graduation, son’s college graduation, daughter’s junior voice recital.

    • Dear Mommy Diva,

      I love your nickname…it aptly describes you. Thanks so much for reading my blog and for your kind comment. I’m glad we’ve been able to reconnect thru FB.

Leave a Reply

